Wakar's Art Blog

A Good Idea

Posted on: June 4, 2012

Recently, out of the corner of my vision, I saw the pic of the green bowl I’d done in Janet Moore’s class as it showed up on my screen saver. The idea of the empty bowl struck a chord and I decided to paint this as a theme. I could use the minimal style I’d learned in her class and not tread on her territory of painting landscapes. Well, imagine my surprise when I got an email invitation from Janet Moore for Art At the Source this year and the cover image was a stack of bowls! I had to laugh.

So on Saturday Nancy, Joanie and I went out to Bodega Bay to visit Janet (web site) and catch a demo she was doing. First we went in the Local Color Gallery and saw some great pieces. Next we had coffee or hot chocolate and homemade croissants at the Roadhouse Coffee shop. It was about the size of my living room but cozier. 🙂 Though it was already warming up at my house when I’d left the marine layer was blowing in pretty good out that way so the warm drinks were welcome. I had to ask Janet about her idea for the bowls and she said she had no idea where it came from. Of course, her versions really make mine look pretty sad, but I still like the idea so I’m going to keep at it. I’d like to do 100 but we’ll see if it stays interesting long enough to achieve that. I’ve decided to only do them in oils or acrylics so no quickie watercolor sketches. Some may be inspired by photos references but most will probably just be made up.

However, one other thing that fascinates me is robed figures so the plan is to do 100 of those as well. And for them I will probably mostly do watercolors.

Anyway, here are a few efforts. The pics were taken with my phone so I apologize for the glare. The first one is from an instructional video (on YouTube) by Karrie Evenson. I signed up for her first online workshop also so there may be some of that work posted later. I love her expressionist style.

This one is acrylic on panel, 6×8. The sky is actually much more yellow than shows up here.

Afternoon Chat

Acrylic on 8×10 panel.

Acrylic on 8×10 panel.

Oil on 5×7 panel.

Well, not really much to brag about here but it’s painting and that is still so much fun!

Leave a Reply

