Wakar's Art Blog

Is There Really Such a Thing…

Posted on: January 30, 2012

as “a good tired?” After a hectic week at work and the second weekend in a row of having three painting classes, I was ready for a day of rest! 🙂 I did get three wheelbarrows full of wood hauled for my neighbor and I for the coming week. And a load of laundry is in the wash, but I was definitely ready for a day to relax, hang out with the cats, and oh yes, paint. And by now my shoulder is sore. But it’s a good sore, right??????

I’m pondering about moving my blog to a differnt (paid) host and making it a little more inclusive. I’ve been feeling the urge to get back to writing more and more lately. Though I’m not sure why. My writing was much like my painting: constantly practicing but never doing any finished pieces. Well, at least I’ve done a few finished paintings. Anyway, there’s that children’s story that won’t go away, three characters from a novel that didn’t work at all, and my alternative (maybe, maybe not) new age novel spanning the last 50,000 years. Though I certainly don’t need a blog about them, it would be nice to have a place to write about things other than just painting. I know, I know, writing is an art form too. But you know what I mean. The idea is kind of like what I’m doing with my journal: using a sketch book and writing my journal entries among my sketches. Well, anyway, it seems time do dig out and dust off those old txt files and see what if anything can be salvaged. In the meantime…

I just realized that I didn’t take a pic of the painting I did in Carole’s class this week and I’m just too tired to do it now. I’ll try to post it next week. For now I’ll just share a couple of quick studies I did today. For the first one Kyoto was actually the one in front of the window but I used Tokyo’s coloring to get a bit of white in there. One goal for both of today’s paintings was to use more paint! And one conclusion I’ve come to is that the Winton paints are not the best for that. It can be done but I have to use lots of OMS and/or alkyd medium. Not all of them are dry but many are and it’s frustrating…at least for trying to do that style of painting. This isn’t a great photo and neither is the next one, but if you can tilt the monitor it helps get rid of some of the glare. And as you can see, my foliage and trees still suck. Oil on 6×8 panel.

Combo Cat

This next was again about laying on paint. I went to Nikki Basch-Davis’s site again today. Her interior paintings are the ones I really like. So I did a quick painting oft he corner of the room. The light and shadow is not good but it does have more paint than usual so that part was a success.Oil on 10×8 panel.

Just a Corner

I don’t know why I’m bothering to post these (tho they do look better in person) but I guess to be an artist one must have a least a bit of the exhibitionist inside.

So in closing I’ll leave you with a photo of Tokyo who later took his turn at the sunlit window.

Tokyo Napping

Leave a Reply

